Ken Wade's Research Group

[Dr Kenneth Wade, Ph.D, D.Sc. Nottingham took up a lectureship in inorganic chemistry on 1 October 1961 after postdoctoral positions at the universities of Cambridge (1957-9) and Cornell (1959-60), followed by a lectureship at Derby College of Technology (1960-1). At Durham, he became successively senior lecturer (1971), reader (1977) and professor (1983, January 1). He chaired the Board of Studies in Chemistry from 1 October 1986 to 31 July 1989 Head of Department. His election as Fellow of the Royal Society (London) dates from March 1989. Retiring in 1998 (September), he lived at Durham, using Departmental writing space until moving in 2011 (September) to Stroud. In the following March, he was awarded the Chancellor's Medal by Durham University. He died at Stroud in 2014 on March 16, aged 81. Articles outlining Ken Wade's achievements and a tribute symposium are linked here.]

Group members by year of joining (on October 1 unless stated) (Each postgraduate listed obtained the qualification shown.)

1961 John E. Lloyd Ph.D. (i.e. started a Ph.D. study period of 36 months full-time); 1963 J. Robert Jennings Ph.D.; 1964 Ian Pattison Ph.D., John H. Slater M.Sc. (i.e. started an M.Sc. study period of 12 months full-time), Parshotam K. Ummatt M.Sc. P/T (i.e. started an M.Sc. study period of 24 months part-time); 1965 Barry K. Wyatt Ph.D.; 1966 J. Robert Jennings (postdoctoral, 12 months), Clive Summerford Ph.D.; 1968 Ronald Snaith Ph.D.; 1969 John B. Farmer Ph.D.; 1970 K.C. Srivastava (postdoctoral, 24 months), Jane Keable Ph.D. [first 12 months at Belfast]; 1971 Elizabeth Petch Ph.D.; 1973 T. Aoyagi (postdoctoral, 24 months), David G. Othen Ph.D.; 1974 Kenneth Manning Ph.D. unattached (i.e started a Ph.D. study period of 72 months while in full-time employment outside the University); 1976 Catherine E. Housecroft and Paul G. Huggett Ph.D.s; 1977 Richard A. Lane Ph.D.; 1978 Mohammed A.I. El-Erian Ph.D.; 1979 Paul G. Huggett (postdoctoral from October 1, 24 months); 1980 Joan C. Halfpenny [associated fixed-term lecturer, 24 months - to GB/Edinburgh, Napier College of Commerce and Technology (Napier University since 1992) as lecturer], Stephen J. Bryan Ph.D.; 1981 R. Graham Whitehead, (honorary fellow, 12 months), Catherine M.J. Cross Ph.D.; 1982 David A. Brown Ph.D.; 1983 Karen Moss [associated senior demonstrator, 36 months - to GB/Nottingham, Trent Polytechnic (Nottingham Trent University since 1992) as lecturer], Marion E. O'Neill (postdoctoral, 12 months - see also Lyn Williams' Research Group), Kay Young Ph.D.; 1984 William W. Porterfield (visiting professor, from April 1, 9 months), Robert E. Mulvey (postdoctoral, 24 months), Ian R. Stephenson Ph.D.; 1985 Terence P. Kee Ph.D. (4 months, until supervisor took up post Vernon Gibson's Research Group); 1986 Piers R.J. Gaffney M.Sc., Gerald E. Toogood (visiting professor, CDN/Waterloo/Univ., February 10, 1 month); 1987 Wendy R. Gill (postdoctoral, 57 months), Manjushri Mitra (postdoctoral shared with Jim Feast's Research Group, 36 months), Andrew D. Keeble Ph.D.; 1988 J.A. Hugh MacBride (postdoctoral, September 1, 94 months, Malcolm J. Cunnington and Mark A. Fox Ph.D.s; 1989 Zdenek V. Hauptman (postdoctoral, 12 months), S. F. Wong (zzzz, August 1, 12 months); 1990 Robert Coult (research officer, January 1, 19 months); 1991 Gavin S. Walker Ph.D.; 1992 Wendy R. Gill (postdoctoral, September 1, 3 months), Robert Coult (research officer, December 1, 2 months), Penelope L. Herbertson Ph.D.; 1993 Richard J. Peace Ph.D.; 1993 Wendy R. Gill (postdoctoral, February 1, 32 months), Thomas G. Hibbert (started January 1) and Lynn A. Boyd Ph.D.s; 1995 Mark A. Fox (postdoctoral, January 1, 45 months - see also Mark Fox's research Group), , Michael C.W. Chan and Martyn P. Coles (both joined August 1; started 1992 in Vernon Gibson's group, transferred after 34 months of full-time study) Ph.D.s, Dennis G. Tuck (visiting emeritus professor, CDN/Ontario/Windsor/University, 3 months Fritz Paneth's Research Group); 1996 Wendy R. Gill (postdoctoral, December 1, 3 months); 1997 Wendy R. Gill (postdoctoral, July 1, 3 months).

A research-group reunion in 1989 (September 16; Grey College), convened by Ron Snaith (1966-71), celebrated the election of Ken Wade to Fellowship of the Royal Society.

research_groups/prof._kenneth_wade_frs.txt · Last modified: 2019/04/18 11:56 by euan
CC Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki do yourself a favour and use a real browser - get firefox!! Recent changes RSS feed Valid XHTML 1.0