Sam Thomson's Research Group

[ Dr Samuel James Thomson took up a lectureship in radiochemistry at Durham in 1951, the year in which his Ph.D. was awarded by Glasgow University. In 1957 he left to return to Glasgow as a lecturer in chemistry, successive promotions leading to a chair in 1973. He headed the chemistry department at Glasgow from 1979 until retirement in 1987. He died in 2006, aged 83.]

Group members by year of joining (Each postgraduate listed obtained the qualification shown.)

1951 John C. Dalton and Geoffrey Wardle Ph.D. (i.e. on October 1 started a Ph.D. study period of 36 months full-time); 1953 Alan Walton Ph.D.; 1954 Kenneth C. Campbell and Ian M. Hoodless Ph.D.s; 1955 John N. Sherwood Ph.D. (final 12 months at Glasgow) [D.Sc. 1976].

For a photograph of members of the Londonderry Laboratory for Radiochemistry in 1951 and a memoir commenting on the part played by Sam Thomson in the Laboratory's research, see the contribution by Dennis Tuck at the end of the page for Prof Friedrich A. Paneth.

research_groups/dr_samuel_j._thomson.txt · Last modified: 2016/05/26 14:32 (external edit)
CC Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki do yourself a favour and use a real browser - get firefox!! Recent changes RSS feed Valid XHTML 1.0