Mel Kilner's Research Group

[Dr Melvyn Kilner took up a lectureship in chemistry at Durham in October 1965 Geoff Coates' Research Group, becoming successively senior lecturer (1978) and reader (1990). From 1975 to 1980 he was seconded to act as Durham University's inaugural health-and-safety adviser. [See History and footnote 11 therein.] In retirement (from October 2003 after two part-time years), he lives at Durham.]

Group members, by year of joining (on October 1 unless stated) (Each postgraduate listed obtained the qualification shown.)

1965 Keith Farmery Ph.D. (i.e. started a Ph.D. study period of 36 months full-time); 1966 Catherine Payling Ph.D.; 1967 John Ibbotson M.Sc. unattached (i.e. started an M.Sc. study period of 24 months while employed full-time outside the University); 1968 Christopher Midcalf Ph.D.; 1969 Howard R. Keable Ph.D., J. Neville Pinkney M.Sc. (i.e. started an M.Sc. study period of 12 months full-time); 1970 Thomas Inglis (postdoctoral, 24 months); 1971 Timothy E. Reynoldson (experimental officer, 12 months); 1972 Elinor E. Robertson (experimental officer, 12 months); 1973 Neal D. Cameron and Edgar E. Ernstbrunner (postdoctoral, 24 and 12 months); 1974 Richard J. Eales M.Sc.; 1975 Bann K.A. Gaylani M.Sc.; 1977 Antoni Pietrzykowski (postdoctoral, 12 months), Graham Ruecroft [Departmental technical assistance (4 dy wk-1 i.e. 30 h wk-1), 35 months Support Staff]; 1978 Pauline A. Gazard (postdoctoral, 24 months); 1979 J. Andrew Clark and Stephen (Andrew) Johnson Ph.D.s; 1981 James Barker Ph.D.; 1982 Clive Davies Ph.D.; 1983 Neil Mason Ph.D.; 1984 Anthony Wooding Ph.D, Peter Nuttall M.Sc.; 1985 David B. Lambrick (postdoctoral, 24 months); 1986 Nicholas J. Winter Ph.D.; 1987 Gillian Bell M.Sc.; 1989 Gillian Bell Ph.D. (Ph.D. study started 1988 under Nick Canning's supervision, transfer occurred after 12 months); 1990 Roberto D. Maia (started January 1) and Andrew P. Brown and Peter W.A. Tidswell Ph.D.s; 1991 Peter Ivison (postdoctoral, December 2, 12 months); 1992 Graham R. Eastham M.Sc. unattached (i.e. started an M.Sc. study period of 21 months while employed full-time outside the University); 1993 Simon P. Crabtree Ph.D.; 1994 Graham R. Eastham and Graham S. Robertson Ph.D.s; Ronald J. Gillespie, visiting professor, CDN/ON/Hamilton/McMaster Univ., April 6, 2.8 months); 1995 Peter F. Ellis and Nicola S. Moore Ph.D.s; 1996 David E. Bryant Ph.D., Stephen W. Colley and Paul Willett Ph.D.s unattached (i.e. started Ph.D. study periods of 60 months while employed full-time outside the University); 1998 Derek V. Tyers Ph.D.; 1999 Christopher J. Neville-Smith Ph.D.

research_groups/dr_melvyn_kilner.txt · Last modified: 2018/10/29 14:42 by euan
CC Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki do yourself a favour and use a real browser - get firefox!! Recent changes RSS feed Valid XHTML 1.0