Arthur Banister's Research Group

[Dr Arthur James Banister took up a lectureship at Durham in 1964. In 1980 he became senior lecturer and then in 1989 reader. In retirement (from 1997, September; using Departmental writing space for the ensuing 10 months), he has lived in Durham.]

Group members by year of joining (on October 1 unless stated). (Each postgraduate listed obtained the qualification shown.)

1964 L.F. Moore and John S. Padley Ph.D.s (i.e. on October 1 started a Ph.D. study period of 36 months full-time); 1965 J. Russell House M.Sc. (i.e. on October 1 started an M.Sc. study period of 12 months full-time); 1966 Peter J. Dainty Ph.D.; 1967 Betty Bell Ph.D., David Younger M.Sc.; 1969 Gulab G. Alange Ph.D., P.W. Millen M.Sc.; 1970 Howard G. Clarke Ph.D.; 1974 James A. Durrant Ph.D.; 1976 Richard G. Hey Ph.D.; 1977 Zdenek V. Hauptman (postdoctoral, 182 months), Andrew J. Fielder (experimental officer, 24 months); 1978 Nigel R.M. Smith Ph.D P/T (i.e. on October 1 started a study period of 24 months full-time and 24 months part-time); 1980 Nigel R.M. Smith (experimental officer, 24 months); 1982 Aidan G. Kendrick Ph.D.; 1983 Ian B. Gorrell Ph.D. P/T (i.e. on October 1 started a Ph.D. study period of 24 months part-time and 24 months full-time); 1984 Wendy R. Gill Ph.D.; 1985 Aidan G. Kendrick (associated senior demonstrator, 6 months), Michael I. Hansford and Simon T. Wait Ph.D.s; 1987 Jeremy M. Rawson Ph.D.; 1988 Simon T. Wait (postdoctoral, December 1, 10 months), Philip D. Coates and Antony W. Luke Ph.D.s; 1989 Ian Lavender Ph.D.; 1990 Jeremy M. Rawson (postdoctoral, 27 months), Jack Passmore (visiting professor, CDN/Fredericton/NewBrunswickUniv., March 28, 2 months); 1991 Christine M. Aherne and Simon E. Lawrence Ph.D.s; 1992 Ian Lavender and Peter Ivison (postdoctorals, November 1 and December 1, 14 and 4 months), Iain May Ph.D., Thomas G. Hibbert M.Sc.; 1994 Jeremy M. Rawson [associated fixed-term (36 month) lecturer joining from GB/Edinburgh/Edinburgh Univ., 12 months, to GB/Cambridge/Cambridge Univ. with 1995-start Ph.D.s John J. Longridge & J. Nicholas B. Smith], Neil Bricklebank (postdoctoral, January 1, 20 months), Owen G. Dawe M.Sc. 1995 Penelope L. Herbertson (postdoctoral, 7 months); 1996 Leila J. Seqeira, (postdoctoral, March 11, 6 months).

research_groups/dr_arthur_j._banister.txt · Last modified: 2016/07/19 12:58 by euan
CC Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki do yourself a favour and use a real browser - get firefox!! Recent changes RSS feed Valid XHTML 1.0